Bright and Loud - Playlists, album reviews, concert photography

Sounds010

September 17, 2017  •  Leave a Comment

For the tenth addition of the Sounds series we focus on the gentler side of music.  Softer songs that won't jolt my infant daughter awake.  This doesn't mine too far back, so less a collection of classics than of more recent fare that has stuck out to me, a lot of it from 2017.

Emily Haines & The Soft Skeleton - Planets

Goldfrapp - Jo

Benji Lewis - Not Alone

Drama Duo - Barely Friends

The Preatures - Cherry Ripe

Billie Eilish - Ocean Eyes

The War On Drugs - Knocked Down

Lucy Rose - Moira 

Punch Brothers - Julep

Hannah Georgas - Walls

The Paper Kites - Too Late

London Grammar - Hell To The Liars


Better Listening Through Circuitry 002

September 10, 2017  •  Leave a Comment

Chilled beats.  Maybe you dance a little, maybe just get lost in headphones.  

If you like what you hear, consider a purchase from the artist site.  These folks work hard to make it look easy.

Recondite - Levo (https://recondite-de.bandcamp.com/)

Pantha Du Prince - A Nomad's Retreat (http://www.panthaduprince.com/)

Kiasmos - Looped (https://kiasmos.bandcamp.com/)

Saschienne - Cache´ (https://saschienne.bandcamp.com/)

Four Tet - Angel Echoes (https://fourtet.bandcamp.com/)

Gold Panda - You (https://goldpanda.bandcamp.com/)

Kalipo - Institute of Cottonwool (http://kalipo-music.blogspot.com/)

Stephan Bodzin - Zulu (https://stephanbodzin.bandcamp.com/)

Sascha Funke - Mango (https://saschafunke.bandcamp.com/)

Tycho - Past Is Prologue (http://www.tychomusic.com/)


Better Listening Through Circuitry 001

September 10, 2017  •  Leave a Comment

Better Listening Through Circuitry is an occasional series dedicated to electronic music and the influence it has over all genres.  I'm unsure of the direction this will take at this time, I guess it just depends on whether or not people find value in it.  I know that it will start as a series of playlists, a channel for discovering new listening experiences, or just rekindling a love for something familiar.

Episode 001 kicks things off with a more organic sound.  The fringe elements of electronic music tend to find themselves intertwined with more traditional musical styles.  Ambient and drone artists often work with, or as, neo-classical, instrumental, and minimalist composers as well.  So, we begin, not with a bang, but with a whisper.  Gently played keys and soft strings give way to airy synth pads and analog drones.  It's good for the headphones, a clear night, or just some quiet time alone.

The artists here are all hardworking musicians, but these in particular don't exactly sit at the top of the sales charts.  I've created playlists for a listening experience, but streaming brings little to no revenue to the musicians.  If you hear something you like, please consider buying something direct from the artist.

Playlist:

Alaskan Tapes - Blue, in Script  (https://alaskantapes.bandcamp.com/)

Jon Hopkins - Abandon Window (https://jonhopkins.bandcamp.com/)

The Sight Below - Shimmer (https://irisarri.bandcamp.com/)

Ben Lukas Boysen & Sebastian Plano - Winding and Unwinding (https://benlukasboysen.bandcamp.com/)

Orcas w/ Sylvain Chauveau and Lucinda Chua - Capillaries (https://orcasmorr.bandcamp.com/)

Brambles - In The Androgynous Dark (https://brambles.bandcamp.com/releases)

Christina Vantzou - Prelude for Juan (https://christinavantzou.bandcamp.com/)

Max Richter w/ Louisa Fuller, Natalie Bonner, Rico Costa, John Metcalfe, Ian Burdge, and Chris Worsey  - Autumn Music 1 (http://www.maxrichtermusic.com/en/index.php)

Solace Music - Should've Stayed (https://solacetunes.bandcamp.com/)

Bing & Ruth - As Much As Possible (https://bingruth.bandcamp.com/)

James Heather - Last Minute Change of Heart (https://jamesheather.bandcamp.com/)

Leandro Fresco - Los Anos Que Vivimos En Peligro  (https://leandrofresco.bandcamp.com/)

Bersarin Quartett - Im Lichte des anderen (https://bersarinquartett.bandcamp.com/)

Olafur Arnalds w/ Arnor Dan - A Stutter (https://olafurarnalds.bandcamp.com/)

Hotel Neon - 3:04 AM (https://hotelneon.bandcamp.com/)

Aaron Martin w/ Christoph Berg - Coda (https://aaronmartin.bandcamp.com/) (https://christophberg.bandcamp.com/)

Olafur Arnalds w/ Nils Frahm - 21:05 (https://olafurarnalds.bandcamp.com/)

Deaf Center - New Beginning (Tidal Darkness) (https://deafcenter.bandcamp.com/)

Kid Koala - The Observable Universe (https://kidkoala.bandcamp.com/)

Bruno Sanfilippo w/ Julian Kancepolski & Pere Bardagi - The Legend of The Sailor (https://brunosanfilippo.bandcamp.com/)

Simon Scott - _Sealevel.2 (https://kesh.bandcamp.com/album/below-sea-level)

Markus Guentner - Paragon (https://astrangelyisolatedplace.bandcamp.com/album/theia)

Hjaltalin - Ethereal (http://www.hjaltalinmusic.com/)

Marsen Jules - penstla (https://marsenjules.bandcamp.com/)

Bvdub - Your Painted Armor Aches to Crack (https://bvdub.bandcamp.com/)

 


Sounds009

August 15, 2017  •  Leave a Comment

August 15th, 2017

A eulogy for the 90s and the rock music that shaped a decade.  Yes, Sirens is newer, but it's their best song since Black

Pearl Jam - Sirens

Alice In Chains - I Stay Away

Soundgarden - Mailman

Stone Temple Pilots - Big Empty

Collective Soul - Shine

Deftones - Be Quiet and Drive (Far Away)

The Smashing Pumpkins - Tonight, Tonight

No Doubt - Sunday Morning

The Offspring - Self-Esteem

Green Day - When I Come Around

Toadies - Tyler

Garbage - I Think I'm Paranoid

Being a rock star does not exclude a person from the trappings of depression, and the terrible toll it can take.  Please pay for music, but also consider a donation: https://afsp.donordrive.com/


2017 Report Card

July 12, 2017  •  Leave a Comment

July 12th, 2017

2017 is halfway gone.  Here are some of the best tunes so far.  Lot of music to sift through, but I think everybody can find at least one album to buy from this lot, and show some love to the tireless artists that create the music we love.

Archive
January February March April May June July August September (2) October (3) November (3) December (1)
January (3) February (1) March (1) April May June July August September October November December
January February March April May June July August (1) September October (2) November December